In Contention Part 1: Best Supporting Actor 2012

It’s mid October, and as the rest of the world goes outside to enjoy the cool fall weather, us movie nerds stay in and scour over the films of past, present, and future 2011 to decide which we want to support come awards season.  I’ll be the first to admit the way in which we currently recognize achievement in film is a bit flawed.  Style is preferred over substance and ingenuity, films that actively work to subvert and change the their genre or even film in general often fail to get recognition, and come November / December the awards race turns into a popularity contest, with studious trying to impress voters not with their films, but gimmicks and cheap tricks instead.  But none of that changes the fact that it’s fun to talk about.  I love movies, and even though come Oscar time I’m often disappointed by the choices the Academy makes, I’m excited and engaged by every aspect of the ceremony regardless.

Thus, I’ve decided to use the modicum of power that running an internet film blog provides, and levy my support the films that I think deserve to win, as well as the ones I believe probably will.  Because The Academy is being a bit weird this year in terms of nominations — choosing to put a limit of 10 on the major categories but allowing themselves to nominate less than that — I’ll be listing 7 (5 definite nominations and 2 wildcards) films / directors / actors / actresses that I believe will get nominations, and 2 that I desperately hope do. but know deep down probably won’t.

Nominations

Wildcards

Personal Choices

Over the course of the next couple of weeks I’ll be listing my choices for the remaining categories: Best Supporting Actress, Best Actor in a Leading Role, Best Actress in a Leading Role, Best Director, and finally, Best Picture.  So stay tuned!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Editorials

Author:Ryan Crockett

Super-geek and cinephile, artist and writer, Ryan Crockett knows way too much about the French Revolution.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “In Contention Part 1: Best Supporting Actor 2012”

  1. October 16, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Interesting list, though I’ve seen very few of the films I hear. Some personal favourites: Corey Stoll in Midnight in Paris, Alan Rickman in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part Two, Jesper Christensen in The Debt, Nick Nolte in Warrior, Jude Law in Contagion. Albert Brooks and Bryan Cranston in Drive, and Philip Seymour Hoffman and Paul Giamatti in The Ides of March.

    • October 16, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      Of the films on this list I would definitely suggest checking out Beginners and Martha Marcy May Marlene, really great stuff. I liked Nick Nolte in Warrior as well, I’m just not sure he made a big enough impact for a nomination.

      • October 16, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

        A nomination does seem unlikely, still, he’s worthy of consideration. I’ll definitely check out Beginners when it hits DVD and Marthy Marcy May Marlene if it comes to my local theater.

Leave a Reply

